when it rains…

it pours…so hate me for not posting but after you read of all this you may understand. In my last post i mentioned the good news of no bloody stools and no blood infection, well I spoke too soon. On tuesday morning, his stools began testing positive for blood. Monday night, his line clotted off. The I.V. team came at 2am and administered a clot busting medicine which had to sit in the line for 2 hours. At 4am they came back and tried to pull the clot out and were unsucessful. They administered another dose of medication and came back at 6am. At 6am they came back and were again unsucessful. They pulled the line at 11am. On tuesday we also found out that alex has another blood infection. There is a fungus growing in his blood stream as well as in his esophogus and throat. The bacteria in his blood is klebseilla pnemoniae and the fungus is candida albicans. On thursday he had an endoscopy and a colonoscopy to repeat the biopsies that were done at Fairfax. Those results should be back tomorrow. They also sent off stool studies for malabsorbtion which will be back this week. The IPEX blood work was sent off to Cinncinatti, OH and will take 2 to 6 weeks for the results. He is currently getting 10mls of neocate via the tube and 30mls via the bottle every 3 hours.

I should also mention I  had visitors…mom and carolyn came up for the day today. More importantly…grandma came and stayed with me all week. Mom brought her up on tuesday night and she stayed and rode home with mom today. It was so nice just to have someone to  hang out and talk with. She stayed up Alex every night so that I could get some rest. I also got to get out of the hospital. One of our nurses lives in the suburbs and gave me directions to get out there. I went to target and babies-r-us and lenscrafters (my contacts were killing me with all this dry hospital air).

6 responses to “when it rains…

  1. Ok Peanut…………enough is enough………….GRANNIE LOVES YOU AND MOMMY AND IT’S TIME FOR YOU TO GET WELL AND COME HOME SOON………….. WE GOT SOME SHOPPING TO DO……….TARGET CALLED THEY MISS YOU AND GRANNIE AND MOMMY……. 🙂 I KNOW YOUR TIRED BUT LISTEN TO GRANNIE YOU HAVE TO KEEP FIGHTING AND STAY STRONG…….AND REMEMBER HOW MUCH I LOVE YOU………….HUGS AND KISSES ARE COMING YOUR WAY BE SURE TO SHARE THEM WITH MOMMY………… LOVE YA PEANUT,LOVE GRANNIE

  2. The Shore Family

    Hi Sam and Baby Alex! We just wanted to say hello and let you know that your mom came by this afternoon with the cutest pictures of your baby boy. Alex is adorable, love the cowboy outfit. 🙂 We want you to know that we are all thinking of you here on Catoctin Ridge Street and praying for baby Alex’s speedy recovery. I wish i could send you a big hug through this email. Your mom does a wonderful job of keeping us up to date on Alex and his wonderful mommy. We look forward to happy updates and know that this will get solved for your precious baby. lots of love and hugs from Chris, Becky, Mackenzie, Hailey and Dillon

  3. Sam and my sweet Alex, I hate to hear all of this recent news, you are constantly in my thoughts and Margaret and I were just talking about you both and wondering how you were. Sam, you have been so strong and things are not getting any easier, but it seems like your courage does not fade.. DONT LET IT!

    love
    your Caroline

  4. Hello Ms. Baker,

    We are all thinking of Alex and praying for him to come home soon.

    Love, Dr. Kamat

  5. Sam and baby Alex, I am so sorry to hear about all that you all have been going through. You just need to have faith that it all is for some reason, and soon they will have a solution for what he is going thru. Love you both and hope everything is better soon!

  6. Hey Sam & Alex! I can’t even imagine what you are both going thru! All I can say is that we are all thinking about you both and praying for happy updates SOON!!! You both have been fighting and staying strong! Keep that fighting spirit up and we will see those Happy Updates!!!!

    Love,
    Tina, Charlie, Cassie & Gracie.

Leave a comment