Escape Artist

So ladies and gentlemen…if you didn’t know Alex was a genius you do now! Yesterday he managed to take out not ONE but TWO nj feeding tubes. These are not just regular feeding tube into the stomach. These go into the small intestines and curves around. “how did this happen”, you might ask…well here goes…

Tube 1 {placed on 8/15} On Wednesday they replaced the tape and bandages holding it on. On Wednesday evening the bandage was peeling up a little but not much. Thursday morning I woke up to hear him sneezing and when I looked at him, the tube was 4 inches out of his nose but still taped to his face. I assumed this happened because the tape was coming off and the sneezing just projected the tube to where the tape had come off.

We went downstairs and had a second tube placed under fluoroscopic exam at 10am. When we came back to our room, our favorite Nurse (sweet Caroline) taped it down with steri strips then these round disc things then a tagaderm patch. It was on so tight.

Tube 2 {placed on 9/4} At 4:30 pm Alex sneezed once and some came out then I guess it must have irritated his nose because befor I could get the Nurse back in he sneezed like six times until it had come out again.

I guess he was just telling us he was done with that for awhile. He was started on steroids last night and I don’t know if I am totally ok with it but at this point I don’t know what else to try.

CAROLINE–When you read this know that Alex and Mommy both miss you!! Enjoy Atlanta!!

2 responses to “Escape Artist

  1. Alex and Mommy!!! Thank you so much for the sweet note! I have had you both in my thoughts and prayers all weekend and Im so glad to hear were still staying strong and fighting!!!
    Caroline

  2. HEY BIG BOY,SEE SWEET CAROLINE LOVES YOU TOO SO YOU BETTER BE GOOD FOR GRANIE………….KEEP FIGHTING…AND STAY STRONG AND SLEEP !!I LOVE YOU VERY MUCH,GRANNIE

Leave a Reply

