Last night at home…

So tonight is our last night at home alone before baby Alex comes…Nothing major going on just a lot of waiting! Frank is playing his game which is fine by me because he won’t be able to play as much now and the people he plays with are like his best friends. I haven’t done much to get ready I will pack a few things in the morning but my bags have been in Mom’s car for awhile now. I am wondering if it is the calm before the storm because I haven’t gotten sick today (crosses fingers)…from what I have read when in labor women with hyperemesis will likely get sick more or less continuously throughout labor. YUCK!!

I can’t begin to tell you how many people have asked me these questions so here goes:

“Are you nervous? excited? scared? ready?”

Wednesday is a welcomed exciting anticipation. I thought of holding him, seeing him for the first time, I haven’t spent much time contemplating labor and delivery. I understand it will be the hardest thing I have ever done. I have no expectations, no real anticipations, no way to prepare. Words like hard, painful, exhausting, difficult, I’m sure understate the experience…there should be new words invented to better define it. Those words are my only preparation for labor so it is no wonder i’m not afraid. Ignorance is definitely bliss but haven’t I suffered enough already. I can take whatever God or Alex throws my way!

“What’s the first thing you want to eat?”

I try to find a way to connect with the coming days of labor; I can feel the contractions mattermore. But there is no stillness in my brain, and instead of focusing on contractions, meditations, the image (never distinct) of alex, I focus on all the food I want! I am so hungry all the time but try to refrain from eating much because it is too hard on me to get sick. I want all my favorite foods, some of which I can’t get because no one makes it right (Uncle Rick’s brisket) but I can’t wait. So let it be known…I want:

Grandma-

Mac & Cheese, Scalloped Potatoes, Potato Salad, Wax Bean Salad, Potato Soup

Mom-

Kielbasa Fried Rice, Spinach Pasta Salad, Bacon Shrimp, Enchiladas

and in general big juicy Jack Daniel’s burgers with french fries, beef and broccoli, beef fajitas, and tons more…

 

I will try to put another update on tomorrow after I go to the Dr before I go to the hospital. If not I will not be on likely until we get home in a few days.

Thanks to everyone for all your support and prayers throughout this crazy ordeal 🙂

Leave a Reply

